Sunday, 30 June 2013

A Wedding for Julia by Vanetta Chapman

A Wedding for Julia, the third book in a romantic series from popular author Vannetta Chapman, takes a last look at the Amish community of Pebble Creek and the kind, caring people there. As they face challenges from the English world, they come together to reach out to their non-Amish neighbors while still preserving their cherished Plain ways.

Julia Beechy is so stunned, she can hardly breathe. Her mother's announcement that she must either marry or move from the family home upon her mother's imminent death catches Julia by surprise. How can she leave the only home she has ever known? What about her dream of opening her own Plain café?

When Caleb Zook offers support, comfort, and a solution, Julia is afraid to accept it. Can she marry someone she barely knows? Is it the right thing to do? Is this God's plan for her future?

Caleb thought his time for marrying was long past, but he feels a stirring in his heart he cannot shake for this beautiful, forlorn woman. Amid the circumstances of this life-altering decision, the people of Pebble Creek weather the worst storm to hit Wisconsin in the last hundred years. Where will Julia and Caleb be on the other side of it?


A Wedding for Julia is a peaceful and inspirational read; transporting the reader into a world, far removed from the hustle and bustle of our lives today. The book looks at the Amish way of life and some very modern problems facing one of the women in the community. Julia Beechy has hopes and dreams, just like any other woman in today’s world, but her Amish way of life brings those dreams crashing down, when she is faced with a terrible dilemma; Marry a man she hardly knows or loose the chance to open her own restaurant and fulfil a lifelong ambition . Added to this, Julia also has the death of her father and the future of her invalid mother to worry about. Life is anything but easy and straightforward for this young woman.


A Wedding for Julia brings together beautiful prose, inspirational scripture and lives which are touched by the Amish way of living. As a reader, I found that the book gave a great sense of stillness and calm to my day. I found myself wishing the book could never end, just so that I could stay in the peace and quiet of the story. Whilst reading the book, I found myself admiring Julia’s strength and courage, which is conveyed so beautifully upon each page. Julia has several issues in her life to deal with and with the help of her family, friends and God, she achieves so much.  


Alongside the characters of Julia and Caleb, we are introduced to extended family members and new members of the community, all who adjust to their time in Pebble Creek in different and interesting ways. Vannetta Chapman has created a beautiful community, with interesting characters and a book which is both thought-provoking and entertaining.  


If you enjoy books with an inspirational theme, detailed characterisation and in-depth story line, then A Wedding for Julia would be perfect for you. Ms Chapman possesses a great depth to her writing, which pulls the reader along and immerses them fully in the world she has created. With personal touches added at the end of the story by the author, A Wedding for Julia is a book about love, which has clearly been written with love. Rarely do we see anything crafted so well and with such devotion. A truly enjoyable read.
Honey Bee Reviews says; Put the kettle on and grab this book.
 About Vanetta.
The first thing you need to know about me is that I write Fiction full of GRACE.  Every plot is different. The characters change. Some of my books are mysteries, others are novellas, and some are romances. But they all are stories of light, hope, and truth. Stories that at least for a moment touch the deepest places in our heart.

Tales that whisper hope. That speak of family and community. That remind us of God and His love.

What do I write? If I had to reduce it to four words, I suppose I’d say I write Fiction full of GRACE.

Thursday, 11 April 2013

A Highland Werewolf Wedding by Terry Spear

Bestselling and award-winning author Terry Spear has written a couple of dozen paranormal romance novels and two medieval Highland historical romances. Her first werewolf romance, Heart of the Wolf, was named a 2008 Publishers Weekly’s Best Book of the Year, and her subsequent titles have garnered high praise and hit the USA Today bestseller list. A retired officer of the U.S. Army Reserves, Terry lives in Crawford, Texas, where she is working on her next werewolf romance and continuing her new series about shapeshifting jaguars.

Visit Terry's website HERE


A Highland  Werewolf Wedding. 

Elaine Hawthorn is a gray American werewolf, currently out of work, and on a mission to share in a family treasure. When she arrives in Scotland, she nearly has a head-on collision with one hot, kilt-garbed Highlander, and runs him off the road.

Werewolf laird Cearnach MacNeill isn't happy Elaine ruined his car, but he quickly becomes her protector after a misunderstanding lands her right in the middle of two feuding clans. Now he's out to ensure that this sexy female wolf gets her fair share of her clan's treasure. He knows he should leave well enough alone, but it's too late to leave his heart out of it

A Highland Werewolf Wedding is a sexy tale of wolves, pirates and beautiful scenery. It is clear from the very beginnings of this book, that Ms Spear has a passion for detail, werewolves and Scotland. The descriptions of the land, castles and scenery were mesmerising, as were the times that Elaine and Cearnach spent as wolves.  
I enjoyed the story immensely and found Ms Spear’s words to be written with both poetry and passion. Her language was intelligent and intricate; just perfect for describing the emotions which played out between Elaine and Cearnach.  

The characters in A Highland Werewolf Wedding were realistically portrayed and the story was enjoyable. I have read several wolf stories in the past, but in my honest opinion, I felt that this was the first book, to ever display a detailed knowledge and love for this animal. If you love wolves, sexy Scottish warriors and a well-written plot, then this is the book for you.
 Honey Bee Reviews says; Our highest rating:Find your best chair and snuggle down with this one.



1782, St. Augustine, Florida
The heat of the October day made Elaine Hawthorn wilt as tears blurred her eyes. She choked back a sob as men shoveled the dirt onto her mother's and father's coffins. Never again would she see her mother's bright smile or her father's raised brow when she did something he thought was not quite ladylike. Never again would she feel her mother's and father's warm embraces, or hear them telling her how much they loved her. A fateful carriage accident had brought them to this.

Barely an hour later, her uncles Tobias and Samson pulled her away from the reception to speak with her privately. From their weary expressions-and the way Kelly Rafferty, a pirating wolf himself, had leered at her at the funeral-she was in for more dire news.

"Lass, you must have a mate," Uncle Tobias said, towering over her like an Irishman ready to do battle. He was a seasoned fighter, sailor, and pirate-or as he often reminded her, a privateer, like his twin brother. Tobias never took any guff from his men. He and his brother had been born while their parents were crossing the Irish Sea from Ireland to Scotland so she believed seawater ran in their veins. They were also shape-shifting gray wolves.

In her presence, her uncles always seemed uncomfortable, fidgeting and avoiding speaking with her as if she didn't exist. Now, they were forced to do something with her. Neither had children of his own, or at least not any that either of them acknowledged.

"He has the right of it, Elaine." Uncle Samson lifted his grizzled, tanned hands in an appeasing way. "At sixteen, you need a mate. Kelly Rafferty has the only viable wolf pack in the area and has asked for you to be his mate. We have concurred."

The air rushed out of her lungs, and she felt light-headed. She grasped the side table to steady herself. Gathering her wits, she responded with outrage. "You did not even ask me! I will not marry that arrogant, conceited wolf! He has never been interested in me. Never! Not until he thought he might gain my parents' properties!"

That made her wonder if he'd had anything to do with her parents' carriage accident. Wasn't it a little too convenient? Her family had been in competition in the pirating business with Kelly Rafferty all these years-and suddenly her parents die when Elaine is old enough that Kelly can mate with her and take over her parents' estates?

"Your father should have ensured you were already mated by this time, Elaine," Tobias said, half annoyed, half gruffly as if this business was now his to deal with, and he was going to do it however he saw fit.
Expediently. From what she'd heard, Rafferty was nearly two decades older than she was and ruthless besides.

"My father would never have forced me to mate someone I did not care for! What if Rafferty was responsible for my parents' death?"
Uncle Tobias folded his arms, looking at her like she'd make up anything to get out of taking a mate. Now that Rafferty had offered for her, no other wolf in his right mind would ask for her hand. Not if he wanted to live long.
"Take me with you. Let me see the world first. Then when we return to St. Augustine, if I have not found my own wolf mate by then, we will see if Mr. Rafferty is still interested."
Over her dead body.

After much arguing with her uncles, Elaine convinced them to allow her this one boon. With great reluctance, they arranged to have her estates managed until she returned.

Two days into the ocean voyage, Elaine heaved the contents of her belly into a bucket while attempting to rest in the captain's quarters, sicker than she had ever been.

Everything went from bad to worse as soon as they arrived at the port city of St. Andrews, Scotland. The ship carried a new name and her uncles dressed as respectable merchants, but someone must have recognized them for who they truly were.

Word soon reached the authorities that the notorious, pirating Hawthorn brothers had returned. As armed men hurried toward them, her Uncle Tobias signaled to one of his sailors, who shoved her to the cobblestones as if she was in their way.

Men grabbed her uncles and several of their crew, led them away in chains, and tried them with barely any representation. To her horror, her uncles were hanged in the town square at the behest of Lord Harold Whittington who owned a fleet of merchant ships and claimed her uncles had plundered three of them.
Scared to death that someone would see her, believe she was part of her uncles' crew, and hang her, too, she hastily wiped away the tears rolling freely down her cheeks and tried to slip away unnoticed in the chilly breeze. Her best hope was to return to Florida and her family's estates.

As she started to steal away, she spied a broad- shouldered man observing her. He was wearing a predominantly blue and green kilt, the plaid gathered over his shoulder and pinned, a sporran at his belt, and a sword at his back- and he looked fierce. Her heart did a tumble.

She had dressed as plainly as she could in a dark-green muslin gown with a fitted jacket and a petticoat of the same color. With a cloak covering these and the hood up over her head, she had hoped to be shielded from the view of the men and women milling about. She thought she had been obscure in the crowd.
Elaine slipped away with the crowd as several men headed for the pubs to celebrate the hanging. She glanced over her shoulder. Curiosity etched on his warrior face, the man was still watching her. He appeared to be a Highland warrior of old, someone who had fought in ruthless clan battles and come out a survivor. Maybe a loyal friend of Lord Whittington who would want a noose around her neck, too.

He lifted his nose and appeared to take a deep breath, as if he was trying to scent the wind. As if he was trying to smell her. Which immediately made her think of a wolf. Her skin prickled with unease.
His eyes widened and he headed in her direction, a few other men following him. The force of powerful males made her heart trip over itself as she strove to get away but at the same time make it look as though she wasn't trying to evade him.

Her heart pumped wildly as she tried to reach an alleyway, thinking she had gotten away. She was slipping down the narrow brick alleyway when a large hand grabbed her arm and effectively stopped her.
Barely able to catch her breath, she bit back a scream.
"Lass," the man said with a distinctive Highland burr, his voice low, "where are you going in such a hurry?"

His dark brown eyes were narrowed, focused on her, yet a small smile curved his lips, as if he was amused that she thought she could evade a wolf. Because that was just what he was.

A gray wolf, tall, muscularly built, but more wiry than bulky. His hand was holding her still, not bruising her but with enough pressure that she knew he was not about to let her go. He was handsome as the devil, the crinkle lines beneath his eyes telling her he was a man who liked to smile, his masculine lips likewise not thin and mean like Kelly Rafferty's, but pleasingly full with a curve that made her think he enjoyed life in a jovial rather than a cruel way.
His wind-tussled hair was an earthy shade of dark brown with streaks of red, and he had no hint of facial hair as if he had just shaved. He was lean and hard, not an ounce of fat, and determined, his jaw set, his brows raised a little now as he examined her more closely. He was taking a good long look, not in a leering way but taking in her distinctive appearance.

The three men who had been trailing behind him were now immersed in a brawl outside the alley, fists swinging.
"Are you here alone, lass?" the man asked, his voice seductively low. He was an alpha, in charge, wanting answers.

"Let... me... go," she growled. She was trying not to make a scene.
"Come with me and my brothers, and I will protect you," he offered.
A shiver stole up her spine. He must know she was related to the hanged men. The fight was growing closer-she could hear men's shouts and cries of pain, scuffling, and thuds as some went down.
She tried to wriggle loose of his strong grip, tried to peel his powerful fingers off her arm, but to no avail. He seemed mildly amused that she'd try.
"Let... me... go," she repeated, scowling up at him.
"If Lord Whittington learns you were one of the Hawthorns' kin, it willna go well for you," the man said. "My name is Cearnach MacNeill, and those behind me..." He glanced over his shoulder, then turned back to her, and amended, "Who were following me are my brothers. We will see you to safety."

If he was not kin, why should he and his family wish to aid her? She didn't trust his motives.
She shook her head. "You are mistaken about me, sir. Release me at once."
He did not seem inclined to do so, but a beefy half-drunken man came up behind him, skirted around the Highlander, and slugged Cearnach in the jaw. He immediately released Elaine so that he was free to pelt the drunk.
She darted down the alleyway, glancing back to see Cearnach struggling to rid himself of the brigand. He took a swing at the drunk, and when he had knocked him back several steps, Cearnach looked for her and spied her getting away. Her heart did a flip. He appeared both troubled and exasperated.
She ran out of the alley, dashed down the street until she found another alley, and ducked down it. She would find a ship and return home on her own.
Somehow she had to figure out a way to deal with Kelly Rafferty next.

Cearnach MacNeill swore as another lout smashed him in the jaw with a mighty punch. By the time he'd laid the man out with a couple of smashes in the face, Cearnach had lost sight of the she-wolf in the crowd. He suspected she was related to the Hawthorn brothers, which was the only way they would have taken her aboard their ship. He was almost certain that the only reason they had docked in St. Andrews was to gather their stolen goods and squirrel them away in some other location.

Did the lass know where the brothers had hidden the goods?
All he should have cared about was retrieving his family's stolen property from the now-dead brigands. When he'd looked into the girl's stricken face, he'd felt a deep regret that she'd just lost her family and now he intended to use her to reclaim his clan's goods. He was sincere about keeping her safe. At least until he could secure passage for her and send her home.

He'd seen the uncertainty in her dark brown eyes, the guarded hope he might rescue her from this nightmare. He'd felt a twinge of need-to protect her.
He picked up her wolf scent and headed for the wharves. Then he saw Robert Kilpatrick and the McKinley brothers and overheard Robert saying, "We have to get her before Whittington does."

Were they kin to the Hawthorn brothers? Most likely they wanted the same information from her as Cearnach did: where was the stolen property the Hawthorn brothers had hidden in Scotland?

She didn't stand a chance unless Cearnach could reach her first.

Buy the book on Amazon HERE

The Dummy and Me by Sydell Voeller

Sydell Voeller grew up in Washington State, but has lived in Oregon for over thirty-five years. Throughout her twenty-year writing career, her published novels for teens and adults have reflected her love for the Pacific Northwest’s ocean beaches, inlets and waterways, evergreen forests, and mountains. Sydell resides in Oregon with her husband. They married in 1971 and have two grown sons, two lovely daughters-in-law, and three adorable grandchildren.
When Sydell isn't writing, she enjoys camping, walking, amateur astronomy, reading, and surfing the web. In 1987 after the publication of her first novel, she was named by the Washington County Mushaw Center, Woman of the Year in Communications. Formerly a registered nurse, Sydell now teaches writing correspondence courses, sponsored by the Long Ridge Writer’s Institute.
                The Dummy and Me.
Fifteen-year-old Deanna Lambert is miserable. She can't find her niche with the popular kids at school and believes she is ugly. Then too, after her mother deserted the family to pursue an acting career in New York City, Deanna's father has grown distant and embittered. Now Deanna is saddled with most all the chores at home—and she and her dad barely communicate.

Yet Deanna's one happy escape is her volunteer work at the nearby Children's Hospital. There the activities director convinces her to get back into her ventriloquism, a creative skill Deanna's grandfather had taught her years earlier.

Deanna and her puppet, Ramblin' Roy, entertain and delight the young hospital patients, but Deanna is worried. What if the kids at her school discover what she's doing? Will they think she's just “a baby” who still plays with dolls?
Deanna takes the risk, but one problem soon leads to another. Can she ever gain true acceptance at school, especially from Jason, the guy whom she has a major crush on? And most of all, can Deanna embrace her gift of ventriloquism, and in so doing, come to terms with her mother's leaving?

The Dummy and Me looks at the fears, hopes and dreams of our heroine Deanna, who struggles with the usual teenage insecurities, as well as drastic changes to her home life.  This is a short and well written read, which deals sensitively with issues such as divorce, childhood illness and a young girl’s lack of self-belief. I found Ms Voeller’s style of writing to be perceptive, with an obvious understanding of the young female mind.

Deanna Lambert’s character is likeable, which is always a bonus for me as a reader. Our brief glimpse into her life is interesting. I certainly found the introduction of a ventriloquist’s dummy to be unique. On the whole, I found The Dummy and Me to be an enjoyable vehicle for the works of Ms Voeller, who has a true knack for delving into the teenage mind.
The Dummy and Me is the perfect short read for fans of the Young Adult genre.
Honey Bee Reviews says: an interesting read.

Visit the author's website HERE

Buy the book on Amazon HERE

Room 302. Six-year-old Misty Ebert. I'd know that voice anywhere. Misty had a hip

disease and was one of the kids who'd been in and out of the hospital a lot. With that had come a

lot of depression.

I rushed inside. "Misty, how are you?" Reaching down, I hugged her. The sight of her

sad blue eyes, bluer than my bouquet, made me glad I was there.

"I'm bored," she answered, dropping her gaze.

I looked down at my flowers, then shoved my hands behind my back. It was time for a

last-minute change in plans.

"Which hand?" I asked.

"That one!" She pointed to my right side and I pulled out the bouquet.

"Oh, for me? All for my very own?"

"Yes, all for you. I'll ask the nurses where I can get a vase for them. But first, tell me

why you're so bored."

"I'm tired of watching TV and working puzzles and coloring and playing video games,"

she complained. "There's nothing fun to do here anymore."

I pulled up a chair and sat down next to her. "Like me to read you a story?"

"Nah, I'm sick of stories."

Desperate, I scanned the room. An empty brown paper bag, the size I took my lunch to

school in, lay on her bedside stand. I flashed it before her eyes.

"Need this for anything?" I asked.

"No, the cleaning lady left it there. She's got lots of them."

As I glanced at her box of broken Crayolas, my thoughts raced. "Here, I'll show you

something," I said, reaching for a blue Crayola. "In just a few minutes, abra cadabra, this brown

paper bag will become someone special."

I scrawled two oversized blue eyes, then a nose, a silly-looking mouth on the flap,

topped with a mop of penciled-in hair.

"Who is it, Deanna? Who is it?"

"A happy clown, named Smiley, who loves to laugh and sing and tell silly stories."

Putting my hand inside the bag, I turned and faced my home-made dummy.

"How-do-you-do, ladies and gentleman, I'd like you to meet my friend Smiley the

Clown." My dummy dipped into an exaggerated bow. "Good day, Smiley the Clown," I continued.

"What's up?"

The dummy stared at the ceiling and answered, "What's up? How should I know! I don't

see anything up there!"

The little girl squealed, clapping her chubby hands with delight.

Sunday, 17 February 2013

Listen To Your Heart by Mona Ingram

Morgan Dempsey has always wanted to work in the hotel business. Acceptance in the concierge training program of a boutique hotel chain means she’s closer than ever to her dream. But on arrival at Whistler, she learns that the position has gone to Adrian, a quiet young man from Switzerland who has a strange aversion to skiing. Morgan’s disappointment is tempered by her attraction to Rob – a ‘bad boy’ ski instructor. Will she fall under Rob’s spell, or will she and Adrian discover that they have more in common than their love of hotels?

Listen To Your Heart, follows the adventures of Morgan Dempsey and her friend Dale, in their new employment at a chic hotel in Whistler. Both young women are well versed in the hotel business, but Whistler is a place where new challenges arise, both in their personal and their working lives. The story is gentle and the setting is painted vividly by Ms Ingram.  The atmosphere and location are well described and I’d recommend reading the book with a cup of hot chocolate and some gently roasted marshmallows close to hand.

As Morgan is introduced to her new colleagues and to Whistler itself, I really felt that as a reader, I was a part of the book. The characters and their personalities were well presented and I found Ms Ingram’s style of writing to be comfortable and her descriptions well observed.

Listen To Your Heart, is a gentle and pleasant read, offering an insightful glimpse into relationships, friendships and family bonds. During the course of book, several sensitive issues were raised, which I felt were expressed and handled sympathetically by the author.

If you’re looking for a story with a super, snowy setting and sweet love entanglements to warm you in the cold winter months, and then Listen To Your Heart will be the book for you.
Honey Bee Reviews says: Put the kettle on and grab this book.
Mona Ingram was born in Ontario, Canada. Her family moved to British Columbia when she was twelve, and she can't imagine living anywhere else. In recent years she has lived in the Okanagan Valley and on Vancouver Island. In addition to reading and writing, traveling and bird watching are among Mona's favorite pastimes.

Mona's first five books were published in hard cover by Avalon Books, which was purchased by Amazon in 2012. Those books are now available under Amazon's Montlake imprint in hard cover, soft cover and e-book format, along with her many (twelve at last count) self-published novels.

Mona writes contemporary romance novels and takes great delight in creating unexpected twists and turns in her story lines. She sets her books in areas which are familiar to her, immersing the reader in the setting. One reader recently commented that "after reading Fixing Freddie, I felt as though I'd been on a trip to Vancouver".


Saturday, 16 February 2013

Barbara Morgenroth ; Days of Our Words.

Always a fan of soap operas, my dream was to work on one.  My neighbor happened to be a songwriter and he introduced me to his managers.  They got me a meeting at ABC and a deal to write a sample script for General Hospital.
Happy Dance!
Until they read the script and said I'd never work in daytime.  To ease my disappointment, I wrote a YA novel about a 17 year old girl who becomes a star on a soap.  This novel, In Real Life I'm Just Kate, now titled Just Kate, got me into daytime television and I worked in soaps for a number of years.
Having experienced both, I can now compare the two worlds of writing.If I sit down to write a novel, I'm on my own with complete autonomy to make all artistic choices without input.
In television, you have no autonomy and everyone including the guy on the corner of 66th Street and Columbus Avenue who sells Italian Ices out of a cart has input.
Life is a little dull here when I'm writing.  I'm at the computer and then for excitement I visit my neighbors.
Life in the television studio is never dull.  It's one crisis after another.  Once I had to write a scene that was going to be inserted into a show that was taped three weeks earlier and was airing in two days.
When I was the headwriter for NBC's show, The Doctors, word came from the higher ups that a character needed to be killed off.  They weren't happy with the actor, or he wasn't happy with them, I'm not quite sure was the problem was but he had to leave.  It was Alec Baldwin and I didn't want to kill him.  He's handsome, he did his job and he was always nice to me.  What more can you expect? 
I thought I would have to come up with a way to kill him.  No, I was told.  Two guns would be fired at him from different directions at the exact same moment.  You know what it looks like.  A disembodied gun coming around a door.I said to the producer
"You can't be serious.  How is the gun being aimed?"
"Just write the scene."
Okay.  You don't necessarily have to make sense in television.  In my world, you have to make sense.  I want to know why the characters behave the way they do and I want it to be in line with reality.
Is writing for television different than writing a novel?  You bet!  For years after I left television, I would catch myself writing or thinking in that soapy way.  In television, you have the time pressure which doesn't give you the luxury of thinking things through.  You grab any idea and run with it.  Now I think.  I still write fast, but I think slow.
Most writers have a choice to make between writing for speed or writing for substance.  It's the rare writer who can do both.  I know I can't.

Thursday, 14 February 2013

Lights, Camera, Poltergeist by Nell Dixon

As the presenter for Ghost Uk, the leading TV show investigating paranormal activity, Fae thought she’d seen it all. Until a Valentine’s Eve live show from Scotland’s Fingelly Manor upsets both her preconceptions and her love life.

The last place any of the TV crew wants to be on Valentine’s Eve is a haunted house. However, Fae and her crew have a show to produce and a mystery to solve.  If you’ve ever watched and enjoyed the UK TV show, Most Haunted, then you’ll enjoy this short but sweet read. There are some great nods to familiar characters from the show and also an enlightening look at the production of a live TV show.
Lights, Camera, Poltergeist is a fun read, with a real touch of spookiness. I found the characters in the story very likeable and enjoyed the ghost story element, very much. There was definitely more than one shiver down my spine, as I read the book.  I felt that Ms Dixon displayed a talent for adding a great atmosphere to the story and placed the reader right at the heart of the action. If you are able, I would recommend that you read this story by candle light to enjoy the full ghostly effects.
Honey Bee Reviews says; Put the kettle on and grab this book. 

Fae snuggled down deeper into the chunky knitted roll neck of her sweater and wished she could shake off the eerie sensations. She puffed out a sigh and watched her breath condense in the air before her face. It wasn’t only the room that was chilly. The relationship between herself and John had taken on a distinctly frosty tinge lately too.
She strolled across the room to the huge diamond leaded window that would have filled the room with light if it hadn’t been shrouded in dust and some dark red velvet drapes that had seen better days. Out in the corridor the electricians and tech staff were hammering and cursing the ancient electrical wiring.
The afternoon light had already started to fade and fingers of frost were beginning to form at the corners of the window. A flicker of movement near the trees on the far side of the lawn caught her attention and she leaned forward, almost bumping her nose against the glass in her quest to see what it was.
Whatever or whoever she thought she’d seen had vanished and she relaxed back on her heels. Working as a presenter on Ghost UK had made her jumpy. Every dark corner now held the possibility of something spooky. In such a deserted spot it was unlikely that anyone would be outside in the grounds, especially in this freezing weather.
“Fae, darling, there you are!”
She turned around to see her producer, Tim, sweeping towards her. She pasted a fake smile on her lips when she saw he was accompanied by the owner of the house, Giles McGinty, Laird of Fingelly. She’d already met Giles when she’d arrived and her impressions hadn’t been favourable.
“Giles has invited us all to dinner tonight before we start filming. Isn’t that marvellous?” Tim raised his eyebrows at her.
“That’s very kind.” Fae was quick enough to pick up the signal.
Giles smiled at her, his gaze lingering just a fraction of a second too long on her bust before raising his gaze to her face. “The pleasure is all mine. I’m looking forward to getting to know you all better before the filming.”
She suppressed a shudder as his dark eyes locked on her face. “John and I will look forward to it.”
Buy the book on Amazon UK HERE

Buy the book on HERE

About Nell Dixon;

I’m Nell, and I was born and continue to live in a small area of the UK known as the Black Country. Happily married to the same man for over twenty-five years, we have three beautiful daughters, a tank of tropical fish and a cactus called Spike. During the day I work for a disabilities charity in my local community.

In my spare time I enjoy travelling with my family in our touring caravan and exploring the countryside. I have a passion for cathedral architecture and historic buildings. I also enjoy walking, gardening and art.

Ever since I can remember I’ve loved stories and books, both reading and writing them. My first poem was published by a local paper when I was thirteen, since then I’ve had several poems published and was first runner up a few years ago in a national short story competition. I’ve also had several non-fiction articles published in professional journals.

Writing romance remains my first love and I write the kinds of stories that I love to read. My publishers to date include: Myrmidon, Little Black Dress, Samhain Publishing, Moonlit Romance, By Grace, Freya's Bower, D C Thompson, and E-Scape Press. I am also proud to say that I was the winner of the RNA’s
Romance Prize in 2007 with my book Marrying Max, and Love Story of the year in 2010 with Animal Instincts.

Click HERE to visit Nell's Website

Saturday, 9 February 2013

Unspeakably Desirable; Free this Weekend

Three women, one man. What could possibly go wrong?
French pastry was the only thing Bel Miller found unspeakably desirable until she met Asher Lau. Unfortunately, she wasn't the only one who wanted him.
He’s a lawyer with a television show and a girlfriend who enjoys wrapping men up in duct tape and trussing them like a turkey. Once she catered his Thanksgiving feast, Bel figured she would never hear from Ash again. Christmas, she was sure Asher Lau and his heiress gal pal with the predilection for plumbing supplies would be out of her life. When the photos of the private sex romp go public, everyone is embarrassed but the girlfriend, now ex-girlfriend. She insists on marrying Ash as a cover story. “It was a Halloween costume!”
And then there’s that fan no one counted on. When something is unspeakably desirable, people can get really desperate.

Click HERE for your FREE copy

Sunday, 3 February 2013

Review; Tournament of Chance

Tournamnet of Chance
A hunter’s daughter becomes the spark that ignites a revolution—in time.

In the Kingdom of Destiny, King Chance decreed any female be she high or low born may earn a place at court by winning an archery competition known as the Tournament of Chance. Although no commoner has ever won before, this is Heather’s year. To prevent her from winning the tournament, however, King Chance will stop at nothing. The king does not yet realize Heather of the Jagged Peaks will be the spark that ignites a revolution — in time.

Heather’s appearance at the Tournament of Chance sparks not only a revolution, but reveals a corruption so deep, it reaches even the King. Reading the story, we see Heather revealed as a light at the end of the tunnel, for a people who have long suspected, that all is not what it seems in their Kingdom. With Heather’s determination and great sense of justice, the reader is taken on a fantasy journey, with twists and turns that I never could have imagined. 

With Heather of the Jagged Peaks, S. G. Rogers has produced a fabulous heroine. Throughout the story, Heather demonstrates great resourcefulness, which sees her surmount several, seemingly insurmountable obstacles. I loved her character and determination. For me, it was a joy to follow along on her amazing journey. Heather is realistically presented, with fears and doubts, but she possesses a great strength of character, which sees her even willing to sacrifice her own life, for those who hold the key to the happiness of the Kingdom.
I do enjoy fantasy stories and Tournament of Chance doesn’t disappoint. The story delivers in every capacity, with thrilling adventure, magic, love and truly amazing friendships; some of which are formed between the most unlikely of characters. With Tournament of Chance, the reader is swept along on a colourful exploration of enchantment and delight. If you enjoy fantasy stories with plot twists and turns, vibrant characters, shape shifting and a lead character who is believable and captivating, then Tournament of Chance is the book for you.
Find your best chair and snuggle down with this one.
About the author:
Originally from Southern California, S.G. Rogers has lived in Asheville, North Carolina and Laurel, Mississippi. She earned her first black belt in taekwondo from martial arts champion Billy Blanks. Later on, she earned black belts in taekwondo and hapkido from Master Myung Kim. Currently residing in beautiful Savannah, Georgia, S.G. Rogers writes fantasy and romantic fantasy stories. She’s owned by two hairless cats, Houdini and Nikita, and lives on an island populated by exotic birds, deer and the occasional gator. Although she’s most often drawn to speculative fiction, she’s been known to break away to write other genres. Tab is her beverage of choice, but when she imbibes, a cranberry vodka martini doesn’t go amiss.
Find out more about S.G. Rogers and her books HERE

Heather raised her bow and loosed her arrow. When the arrow found its mark, the Dragonstone shattered into crystals at last. Nothing happened for a long heartbeat. Heather and Dane locked eyes…just before a strange black bubble exploded out of the shards.
“That doesn’t look good!” Joe cried.
The Ormvalders instantly transformed into dragons and darted into the sky. Dane flew toward Heather, but the spreading darkness quickly enveloped him. Joe and Heather began to run. Gumm grabbed them both, one under each arm and bounded toward the opening in the lava tunnel. He jumped down into the hole, landing on his feet as the wave passed over. Suddenly dizzy, the troll sank to his knees, retching. Heather and Joe slipped from his grip and landed with a thud. Something reached down Heather’s throat and turned her inside out.
“I’m going to be sick,” Joe moaned.
Heather leaned against the wall of the cave, breathing deeply, until the nausea eased. Unfortunately the air was becoming increasingly permeated with fumes.
“Are you all right Joe? Gumm?” she asked finally. The troll grunted in response.
Joe pushed himself into a sitting position. “I’m better now, but it’s a little hard to breathe. You?”
Heather nodded. “That was horribly unpleasant.”
“What in blazes happened?” Joe exclaimed.

“The pent-up magic was released from the Dragonstone,” Heather replied.

Buy Tournamnet of Chance direct from the publisher  HERE

Michelle Zink Interview


Hello Readers. Welcome to our first Sunday of February. Today I'm chatting to author, Michelle Zink. Michelle  lives in New York with her four children.

Prophecy of the Sisters was her first novel, and was chosen as one of Booklist’s Top Ten Debut Novels of 2009 and as one of the Chicago Public Library’s Best Books for Young Readers.
 It has also been listed on the New York Public Library’s Stuff for the Teen Age and the Lone Star Reading List.
Her next book, This Wicked Game, releases March 2013.

Represented by Steven Malk at Writer's House with Matthew Snyder at CAA for film.

To visit Michelle's website CLICK HERE

To join Michelle on Goodreads CLICK HERE

Welcome to Honey Bee Reviews, Michelle. I’d like to kick the interview off with some questions aimed at your Shadowguard series. Can you please tell those readers who aren’t in the know, just a wee teaser about the series?

The Shadowguard series is a steamy adult romance set in modern day upstate New York. It follows the Shadowguard, an elite group of warriors of angelic descent. The first three books follow each of the Montgomery heirs - Scarlet, Ivan, and Lily - as they struggle to balance the secrecy of their calling with the desire for love.

How long do the books take to write?
Each novella took me about three weeks to write. The plot was quick to develop because the world had already been built in one of my YA books, and I’d always planned a companion series centered around this plot.
How about edits?

There was quite a bit of editing with the first book, since it was my first foray into the adult romance genre, but after that things got easier!

Why do you think the Shadowguard Series has been so popular?
I like to think it’s because it has that classic mix of longing and heat that romance readers love together with a fresh take on contemporary paranormal that feels very real.
 How about the heroes in the series? Are they based on any guys you know in real life?
There are three heroes in the series - Rowen, Kane, and Ivan. And I WISH they were based on someone I knew!
I love their names. Can you tell us a few details about them; such as tastes in music and food?

 I’d say Rowen prefers hard rock and a casual dinner in a pub. 

Kane is an unapologetic romantic who likes to take his woman out to a beautiful, quiet restaurant with fine food.

You’ll have to read TEMPTATION’S FIRE when it comes out in February to get to know Ivan. ;)  

That's February 5th readers!! Not long to wait.
Oooh, they all sound pretty tempting to me J
  How about the heroines in your books? Do you ever give your heroine a few of your own traits? If so, can you tell us what they are and why you like your heroine to possess them?
All of my heroines are headstrong in their own way, which is definitely a train of mine. I’ll also give them some of my daughters traits, like Lily, who likes to bake and take care of people.
I think it’s important to represent a wide range of women, because to me, feminism isn’t about being masculine, it’s about the CHOICE to be whoever you want to be and the ability to be paid equally for your work. Even in 2013, there are women who love to cook and nurture and raise children, and there's nothing wrong with that. But there are also women who like to kick ass and take names - and there’s nothing wrong with that, either. Both kinds of woman can be smart and strong and independent, and these are the women I like to write about.
What is the most frustrating thing about being a writer and have you ever let your frustration make you give up on a writing project?
I think it varies from writer to writer. For me, it’s that I have too many ideas. I have to choose the ones that mean the most to me or the ones that I think are most timely for the market. I hate seeing ideas sitting on my hard drive, but there are only so many hours in a day.  The only thing that will make me give up on a writing project is if I really come to believe it’s not going to work. Otherwise, there’s no such thing as giving up, although I will put things aside sometimes to work on something else for a while.
 Michelle, can you share with us your most successful moment as an author?
I wouldn’t say there has been any one moment. Every day that I get to wake up and write for a living is a success in my book.
J Yes, that sounds good to me too. 
Who or what is your driving force?
Ohhh! You’re a tough one, aren’t you?! ;) Writing is so deeply personal, so very much a part of who I am, that the will to do it is just THERE. I suffer from bi-polar disorder, and while I’ve learned to manage it, my mind can be chaotic and noisy at times. I also suffer from anxiety, and while I’ve learned to control it with Buddhism, yoga, vitamins, and meditation, writing is still a sure bet to get me out of my own head long enough to calm down. I’d be a mess without it.
Michelle, I’d say that you’re the tough one J Your dedication to your craft is admirable.
Do you have a muse?
Truly, I don’t have any one muse.  
How about sharing a typical day in your life and tell the readers how you manage to combine your success as an author with your family life.

I’m a single mother, so it can be challenging, but I write pretty much every day. During the school week, I work from about 9am-noon (kids are in school), 3-5pm (I have to sneak this time in most days), and again from 7-9pm (kids are busy with homework, showers, etc, and they know this is my sacred writing time). If I need more time, it’s not uncommon for me to work again from 11pm until one or two in the morning. On the weekends, I usually get in a few hours from late morning to mid-afternoon, although one of my New Year’s resolutions is to give myself Sunday off whenever possible so I’m not working seven days a week. I’m still trying to find the right balance between work and family, but one of the keys is to be fully present in every moment - fully focused on writing when writing and fully focused on the kids when I’m with them. It’s harder than it sounds! And I’m still working on it.

Sounds to me like you’re doing a terrific job. My hat is off to you J
You’ve mentioned your children; if any of them wished to become writers, what advice would you give to them?
To write A LOT. Writing isn’t something you can do every now and then if you want to make a career out of it. It’s something that’s a part of your daily life, and doing it regularly is essential both to make you better and to produce work that gives you a shot at making a living.
You briefly touched on one of your New Year Resolutions; can you tell the readers what your other goals are for 2013?
Personal; take Sundays off, to meditate daily, to expand my yoga practice, to eat vegan Mon-Thurs (my family went vegetarian last year).
Professional; finish two projects that are currently at the 35,000 word mark (about 1/3 of the way complete).
Wow. Certainly sounds like a busy year ahead for you, Michelle.
My professional list is woefully short, mostly because there really is so little you can control in this business. You can’t control whether someone likes your work, whether it is a critical or commercial success, whether you sell all your books. All you can do is write, so that’s what I’m going to do.
How about a quick spot of trivia before you leave us?
Music or silence while you write?
Music while I draft, silence while I revise.
                                                Tea or coffee?
Coffee in the morning, tea in the afternoon.
Hot chocolate or ice-cream?
Ice cream! Although REAL hot chocolate is hard to resist on a cold night.
What is your strength?
My will. As my mother says, I can accomplish anything through sheer force of will.
What is your weakness?
Internalizing everything. I think too hard, analyze too much. I’m learning through Buddhism that it’s better to just accept what IS without working so hard to label or define it.
Vamps or wolves?
Neither. Sorry. ;)

Best TV show?
Six Feet Under. Without a Doubt.

Worst TV show?
Any of the reality shows that highlight greed, rudeness, tackiness, mean-spiritedness, or negativity in any form.
Thanks so much for chatting with me today, Michelle. You’ve definitely tempted me with the Shadowguard series.


Temptation's Heat:

When Rowen Black is assigned to the elite unit of angelic assassins known as the Shadowguard, he thinks his biggest challenge will be overcoming his less-than-stellar reputation. But that’s before he meets his match in Scarlet Montgomery.
Beautiful, strong, and with a temper to match Rowen’s own, Scarlet is focused on the Shadowguard and her possible future as its leader. She’s become an expert at keeping her personal life separate from the Guard, all too aware that as the boss’s daughter, fellow warriors see her not as someone to be respected, but as someone to be protected.

Avoiding entanglements gets a lot harder when Rowen saunters into the room. Rowen puts the bad in "bad boy." Their connection is hot, visceral, and instantaneous.
When the pair are assigned to a joint investigation, they come face-to-face with their undeniable attraction, forcing Scarlet to consider that the connection is not only physical, but a destiny written in the halls of time.

Buy the book on Amazon HERE

Temptation's Kiss:

Lily Montgomery is perfectly happy taking care of everyone else. That is, until her friendship with Shadowguard warrior, Kane Dawson, begins to blossom into something more.
But Lily has a secret. One that will keep her from ever making her feelings known to Kane.
One of the Shadowguard’s fiercest warriors, Kane has a soft spot for Lily. A long-standing member of the Shadowguard, he can’t figure out when his feelings for Ambrose Montgomery’s youngest daughter morphed from brotherly affection into desire and an unfamiliar longing that feels a lot like love. 
Kane holds himself in check knowing that Lily deserves better. A man in a suit, dinner at six every night, rosy-cheeked children who won’t have to worry that their father might be killed by one of the Legion’s wraiths. 
But when the pair are thrown together by a set of circumstances beyond their control, they are forced to confront their growing passion and decide if love is worth the risk of baring it all.

Buy the book on Amazon HERE

 Temptation's Fire:Maggie O’ Reilly has her hands full. It’s all she can do to hold down her job at small-town newspaper and pay the nursing home bills for her deteriorating father. But a lead on a story from Ivan Montgomery might be just the thing to win her the promotion -- and raise -- she needs to secure her father’s care.

Ivan Montgomery isn’t exactly Mr. Popular. As the son of Ambrose Montgomery, head of the Shadowguard, Ivan has a reputation for being surly and confrontational. But somehow Maggie’s spirit and vulnerability make him want to be a better man.

Too bad a future between them is impossible.

As an outsider, Maggie can never know that Shadowguard Security is a front for the Alliance, a group of angelic descendants who keep mankind balanced between the forces of light and dark. And that means she can never know who -- and what -- Ivan really is.

But as the pair come closer to solving the mystery of who is framing the Shadowguard for murder, their attraction becomes impossible to deny. When a confrontation with a deadly foe forces them to face their feelings -- and their passion-- they will have to answer the question; can true love survive the ultimate secret?

To join Michelle on Facebook CLICK HERE

To follow Michelle on Twitter CLICK HERE

To visit Swoon Romance CLICK HERE